The Dodge Journey Commercial


During this past weekend, while indulging in some football I came across the new Dodge Journey commercial.  Now, I must say, car commercials rarely impress me.  They’re so predictable at this point that I think most people have become incredibly skilled at completely ignoring them (or at least I have).

But, this spot struck me with the wry narration from Michael C. Hall which opened with, “People don’t make a list of websites they want to see before they die.” “They don’t fill photo albums with pictures from an online search.”

No they certainly do not.  These were poignant lines that struck a chord with me, as someone living in Boulder, CO that plays heavily in both spaces and is often conflicted about how to use my free time.

Many of us out here live almost what feels like two separate lives.  On one hand always hungry to learn and discover through the power of the web and on the other just wanting to get away from everything to connect with the archetypal warrior/adventurer that lives inside.  It’s the modern man’s dilemma on some level and Wieden + Kennedy brought it to the surface, at least for me.

Crispin Porter + Bogusky has always been adept at this sort of advertising, as well.  They call it finding the cultural tension associated with an idea.  In this case it was more psychological, but their strategic briefs contain a section devoted simply to identifying this force.

Anyways, kudos to the team that worked on this piece.  You have my attention.

Comments

  1. KillerKowalski says:

    Completely bogus commercial. People do make those lists and do have those albums. I laugh every time this commercial is on.

Leave a Reply

